Recent Award Recipients

Teresa Chavis


2022 Teacher of the Year

Sponsored by 

Years of Service Awards    2021-2022

35 Years

Jen Gardner

Kay Walters

30 Years

Paul Wardinski

25 Years

Barbara Dyer

Michael Hoisington

20 Years

Teresa Chavis

Jason Uhry

Heather Viar

15 Years

Melvin Barrow Jr

Dana Cook

Duke Gardner

Tiffany Tankut

Heather Van Dyke

10 Years

Anthony Eifler

Briana Eifler

Adriene Graham

Renee Johannesen

Ashley Montgomery

Kristen Spratley

5 Years

William (Cody) Smallwood

Kellie Wells (Slaybaugh)

JoNika Yarborough

Years of Service Sponsored by 

National Board Certification 

National Board Certification is an advanced teaching credential that complements, but does not replace, a state’s teacher license. Valid for ten years, National Board Certification is achieve upon successful completion of a voluntary assessment program designed to recognize effective and accomplished teachers who meet high standards based on what teachers should know and be able to do. As part of the certification process, candidates complete 10 assessments that are reviewed by trained teachers in their certificate areas. The assessments include four portfolio entries that feature teaching practice and six constructed response exercises that assess content knowledge.  

For more information click here and for a complete list of Virginia CTE teachers click here.

Congratulations to the following VAME members for holding a National Board Certification in CTE.